“Do What You Love and It’ll Never Feel Like Work” -How this statement can limit our potential

Image

My summer abroad in London was unforgettable. I met some great people with whom I still keep in touch, got to see some of the most beautiful and historical sights in the world, and broadened my comfort zone outside of Pennsylvania. However, when I got back to Temple to complete my last semester of undergrad, something inside of me snapped. By the beginning of September, job searching became one of my top priorities. It’s good I started the whole process early because I’ve realized how outdated my career goals have become.

When I first chose Temple my dream was to work for a record label or music venue. I was so excited about my major because I knew I had multiple fields I could pursue for a music-related job. Public relations, event planning, marketing, branding, advertising, and journalism are all crucial components for the music industry. However though music is still my greatest passion, I also hope to stay close to friends and family. With that in mind, I had a rude awakening when beginning my job search and realized how limited my options are in Philadelphia to pursue music at the standards I was holding.

I came across an interesting article titled “An Open Letter to Frustrated 20-Something…” that was so relevant to my scattered career thoughts. Blogger Daniel DiPiazza says “When people ask me ‘what do you do?’ What do I do? I don’t DO anything. I AM somebody. I can do so much. I’m not narrowly defined by skills I use to make money.” It’s a really interesting thought. Everyone is told “do what you love and it’ll never feel like work,” so that’s how I established music business as my career goal in the first place. Yes, I want to do what I love for a living. But if doing what I love for a living entails moving to a more music-oriented city working 60-hour weeks, I’m not so sure if I’d “love” living for my job in an apartment in a strange city by myself.

I do love music, but I also love other things. This article helped me realize that I can do what I love throughout my life without necessarily getting paid to do it. After all, if we’re doing what we love, doesn’t that mean we’re voluntarily delegating time out of our lives to do it because it fulfills us in some way? I love cooking, traveling, being with friends and family, running, and I have the desire to eventually get married, buy a house, and raise a family. The non-stop, 60-hour work routine is not conducive to pursuing all the other things I “love” in life. On top of that, I want a job that offers me stability and a healthy balance of work and life. Once I weighed out the pros and cons of certain jobs both in and outside the office, my job search became much more flexible.

In the beginning of my college career, I really didn’t take into consideration the number of businesses that can use the wide range of fields I’ve studied- every freakin one of them. No two jobs I’ve applied for have been alike- or even within the same industry for that matter. My degree literally places the sky as my limit as far as a career is concerned.  As college students it may seem hard to satisfy all of our expectations in a job. However, broadening our goals and ambitions could open up so many doors we wouldn’t have initially even thought existed for us.

I may not be a publicist for a record label or the owner of a music venue; but I will continue to keep music a vital part of my life. I still sing and play piano regularly and keep up with my favorite artists and genres at my own leisure. I can still write about music and promote music all I want while maintaining good relationships with the ones I love and excelling at my work. As long as I find a job that enables me to put my skill-set and creativity to good use, I’ll be content with anywhere I start out.

Click here to read Daniel DiPiazza’s entire article: http://under30ceo.com/an-open-letter-to-frustrated-20-somethings/.

Leave a Reply

